No updates for a while . . .

I started this blog and clearly haven’t updated it in a looooooong time.  I’ve been toying with just binning it but I think I need somewhere to vent/data dump crap that’s going on again.

2015 was a bit of a non starter as far as skating was concerned which on reflection has pissed me off no end.  This is something that I’m going to be attempting to rectify this year (so far that has not happened, but it’s been wet most of the year so far).  I need to just go a couple of times to get my shit together and get comfortable on the board again, even if it’s just cruising around or a carpark session.  Deffo need to up my skate game that’s for sure.

I bought far too much stuff in 2015 – and this year I’m going to make an effort to change my ways.  I did have a bit of a splurge at the end of 2015, but these were all things that I would need this year at some point (apart from the sneakers, clothes, and misc stuff haha).  I’m also going to try to thin out my stuff – as I’ve far too much of everything and I think decluttering my stuff may go someway to helping to the same with my mind.

Work has actually been really good recently – I’ve started a new project that I’m really enjoying, even if it does take me away from the family for a few days a week.  Just need to make sure I dont lose sight of the day to day job I’m still supposed to be doing . . .

Health in 2015 wasn’t great – I made a good start to getting fit in the hope I’d get a marathon place in London 2016, but that didn’t happen so I just stopped running.  That’s not something that I’m too proud of and thinking back this was the start of the downward slope weight wise.  I’m still not what I’d call fat – but I’ve put on some weight and I’m not happy about it.  2016 is going to be different though . . . .

University is chugging along – I’ve just started the 3rd year of the degree so need to up my game to stay on course for coming out with the best possible grade I can.  Still undecided as to how life is going to work if I do become a teacher full time, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

I’m still finding time to play video games and all the other web/tech stuff that I fill my spare time with.  Annoyingly I can no longer beat my kid at Fifa unless I get lucky, and I’ve even resorted to sneaky tactics where I can in the hope of keeping the scores close.  This is a major milestone – and one I’m not happy with to be honest.  I’ve got a second xbox one that I take when I’m working away, and I think I need to put some hours in to make sure he doesn’t now keep pulling away from me.    I’ve stopped playing all online MMO’s etc, and apart from a few months playing Elite Dangerous (which was very enjoyable) I’ve not played anything that’s really been a time sink (thank god).  I’ve got into Fallout 4 but not so much that I can’t go a few weeks without picking it up.

 

Anyway – I think that’s the blog up to speed – I’m going to update more frequently (and yes I’m aware that I’ve said that here a few times before) in the hope of organising my head/work/health etc.

 

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

