Update as 2012 draws to a close

So with 2012 drawing to a close it’s time for reflection……..

Skate goals were mainly missed, first 3/4 of the year as a result of lack of time on the board and general lack of balls to try anything new. I think this was a result of having my arm break in the back of my mind but that is hopefully slowly but surely going. The last 3.5 months of the year have been a bit shite due to having my back properly diagnosed and Anklylosing Spondilitus being the cause of the pain and stiffness. Having been on some hefty NSAID’s and prescribed a lot of physio and exercise, skating is going to be a medicinal hobby as much as a fun one for this upcoming year.

The combo of needing to get fitter/more flexible for my back problems and the fact that I want my skating to progress a lot more this year should hopefully mean in 12 months time I’m reporting back that I’ve smashed this years goals πŸ˜‰

I’m finishing the year 1 stone lighter than I started, and had it not been for the back issue preventing me from exercising and comfort eating a bit it would’ve been 1.5 stone. This year I’m planning on dropping around another stone, to be at or under 12 stone.

Skating goals for 2013 are simular to those for 2012

Ollies on transition
Frontside grinds
Blunts of some sort
Fakie rocks (as they continue to freak me out for some fucking reason)
Comfortable bombing around the streets ollieing up/over stuff and manuals
Heel/Kick flips on lock (either or)
Switch carves and kickturns/pivots
Nose/Tail stall reverts
Boardslides

I need to stop buying more boards/shoes/clothes that are not needed. Once I get a new pair of skate shoes (as I’ve had bastard heel bruises the last few times I’ve been skating) it’s going to be no purchases unless I’ve sold something of a simular type before hand (I will be lenient if there’s the odd fucking too good to miss bargain, but will then have a big effort to get rid of stuff afterwards). To be honest it’s not the money that’s the issue really, just that I’ve got too much fucking stuff and have no need for more. I’ll certainly be letting stuff go for silly money I expect but that’s the price you pay I s’pose πŸ™‚

University wise I’m going to knuckle down and get on top of the masses of work we seem to have, and not just do the bare minimum.

Work wise it’s a massive reduction of pointless surfing so that I can get all the tasks I have done to enable me to get at the very least some uni work done during lunchtimes

All in all it’s a pretty massive list, but I’m hopeful that they’re mainly do-able. The work/uni ones are a necessity in order for me to continue on the path to becoming a teacher, and the skate ones will help me health wise so that should be all the incentive I need.

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

