A new chapter is about to start ……

So I’m about to start a new chapter in my life

In one month I embark on a 4.5 year journey to become a teacher. It’s going to be a long hard slog, as I’m doing the course part time while continuing my day job. I’m going to have to change the way I’m used to working to be able to squeeze in the 10 – 15 hours a week study time but I’m hopeful I can make it work.

There’s a few things that I want to do before I start the course, mainly creating some space where I can work at home. This is going to be tough as we’re not exactly overflowing with free space but I have a cupboard which I’m planning on converting into a little work station. I will need to find somewhere (the bin possibly) to put all the stuff that’s currently in the cupboard but this new chapter is all about sacrificing for the long term goal.

I want a new laptop which I can use for my university studies, as my 15in MacBook Pro is

a) the family computer
b) too large to carry around (as I will also have my work laptop/tablet with me mon – fri on my commute)
c) in need of a new keyboard and battery (at the least)

The main criteria of my new laptop selectionis

Size

11in ideally as I have to be able to take it to work each day and work on the train in often cramped conditions

Reliability

I do not want to have to worry about the hardware and software for the 4.5 years I will be using it

Looking at these two criteria a MacBook Air is the likely winner. I’m not fussed about disk space as it will have some music and apps installed, and other than that it will be Uni data which I doubt will be more than 20 – 30 gbs in total.

Time to get planning the DIY required for the new cupboard and work out to finance the required bits for Uni

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

