First impressions on new board

So, first impressions are important and you don’t get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression or so we’re told.

With that in mind i don’t think I’m going to find another board I like to skate. Took the BL Hensley out for an hour at my local indoor park and really didn’t get on with it. I think it’s a combination of a few things

• smaller than my usual board
• slightly shorter wheelbase
• trucks are set up differently (they’re the same size, bushings etc, but not what I’m used to)
• different wheels (the surface is a bit slippery at the local wooden park so not being on the wheels I’m confident on didn’t help)

So what am I going to do ……..

I’d like to keep skating the new board, but I’m going to probably just use it for cruising and the odd bit of street skating and see if I get more used to it. I’d probably be better off just sticking my normal trucks/wheels on it and force myself to get used to skating it but as I only get to skate bowls a couple of times a week at the most I’m loathe to spend this time getting used to a new setup.

I’m also toying with redrilling the front truck to give it another half inch of wb.

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

