hackintosh – part 4

IT’S ALIVE, IT’S ALIVE !

Frankenstein_monster_Boris_Karloff

After following the guide at insanely mac I know have my AS Rock ION 330 rocking a retail install of 10.5.7 !!  It’s so much easier after someone does all the hard work!!.

So it’s not perfect yet, with some minor USB issues (usb1 only at the mo), and no Audio, but hopefully these wont be too difficult to fix.  10.5.8 shouldn’t prove a problem, so that’ll be done when I get the box home and hooked up to my network.    I also need to run a command at bootup at the moment which tells it to boot with only 1 core running (which kinda sucks as it’s a dual core chip), this is probably my fault somewhere in the install, as there are a couple of other people who do not have this problem.

Next step is to install all the software that I use, and then take a nice fresh backup (before and after any data goes on).  Not sure what I’m going to do regarding connecting it to the network yet, prob just get a generic usb wifi dongle to pop into it (as it has 6 USB ports it wont be a problem to keep one with this in) or see if I can pick up a cheap wifi bridge on eBay.

More posts to follow once I’ve had a bit more of a play about (prob over the weekend)

Digg This
Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

