hackintosh – part 2

The AS Rock ION 330 arrived today – bargain off ebay which I managed to steal for around 1/2 price (RESULT)!!  Firstly I managed to smack Win 7 RC1 on it in about 30 mins, and it didn’t need any faffing about with drivers which is nice to know should I fail at getting OSX on it.

asrock-ion-330-mini-pc

Once I’d made sure Win7 wasn’t going to be a problem, I quickly upgraded the BIOS to v 1.50 and then  busted out my iDeneb 10.5.7 disk to see if that would install.  COMPUTER SAID NOOOOOOOOOOOO

I then had a bash with iATKOS v7 which got a lot further.  Set up the HD, chose what I wanted to install and w00t – it started to install!!  Only to find 20 mins later – COMPUTER SAID NOOOOOOOOOOOO

Bollocks :-)  Oh well, I knew from having hackintoshed a couple of netbooks that this isn’t an exact science (at least when the hardware is fairly new) so I wasn’t disheartened.  The error that iATKOS was giving me seemed  related to the disk more than anything, and as I hadn’t actually had experience of it working before I decided to bin it and try an iATKOS v5 disk that I had used on a previous hackintosh .  It seems to be installing ok at the moment, although I doubt if every\any thing will work first time round as I was winging it with the settings when I customised the install

Digg This
Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

