an evening geocaching

Well, not really an evenings worth as I didn’t get out of the house until about 8:45pm.  The initial plan was to scope out the caches shown below so that I could take my son with me at the weekend.

geo-220709 

However with the late start, there was no way I’d get round to all of them, so I just thought I’d try for the the nearest 4.  Had a 15 minute hunt for the first one, but the tree cover was screwing with my GPS (I dgeo-pic1aon’t think the pylon overhead helped matters either) and I couldn’t find it.  I didn’t want to spend too long on this first cache, as the light was fading (see pic).  I headed off to the 2nd on the list, a 10 min walk away and 15 mins later I had the cache found and the log signed.  This was a great little cache location, tucked away in the base of a tree, just like proper ‘treasure’ should be .

A quick walk across a field or two found me at a road where the next cache was hidden in a fence post.  This was found pretty quickly, the log signedgeo-pic2 and then it was off to the next one.  As you can see from the pic, it was now almost totally dark, and the next one was in a Church!  Luckily I had my Fenix torch with me, which is 215 lumens of awesomeness!!  Even with the torch though, I spent a good 20 mins hunting for this cache.  I wasn’t to be beaten though, and once I’d realised it wasn’t in the actual Church Grounds, but somewhere on the bridleway that runs alongside I soon grabbed it.  I’m not sure if I’d have been better in the light,  as the torch beam shone inside where it was hidden and lit up the cache.  In daylight I think it might’ve been a bit trickier to spot.

All in all a good evenings caching.  I was a bit disappointed that the caches I found were all 35mm film pots, and as such didn’t have anything in other than logs to sign (as my son likes the ‘treasure’ aspect of caching), but I’m hoping that I’ll find more in the others.  I’m planning on going back in the next few days  (possibly on my bike).

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

