geocaching – the first cache

geo-logoSo as planned I checked out a few caches near where we live, in the hope that I could get near one over the course of the weekend.   There were a few possibilities, and the main criteria I had was one that was safe from muggles (not my term, blame the geocaching nerds) as having Dyl with me would mean that stealth wasn’t an option.  It also had to be one that had something in it, as while looking for a cache would be fun, if there was ‘treasure’ at the end of it.

geo-1

The Cache I decided on turned out to be a cracking choice.  Firstly it was located on the way to a Country Park we were visiting, on a Bridleway.  This meant that Dyl and I could easily spend time looking for the cache, without worry of people passing by.  There were other cache’s in the Country Park that we were visiting, however these would’ve had more muggles about which would’ve proved difficult.  Secondly it was a cache which actually contained something

other than just a log.  While I’m happy to just log my visit, a 3 year old needs a bit more to keep them interested.

geo-1b

The Bridleway started down a lovely tunnel of trees which Dyl and I ran down as fast as we could to get to the spot

where the treasure was hiding.  It wasn’t long before we got to the location, and after a couple of minutes looking we had found th

e cache.  It was hidden quite well ina tree, and while I had to lift Dyl up to get to it he was chuffed to bits that he had found something that had been hidden.  We didn’t know what to expect when we opened up the cache, and Dyl was overjoyed to find some treasure!  It was a Travel Bug which originated in the U.S.A. and has so far travelled 7687 miles!  I’m not sure where we will take it next, possibly up to the Cambridge area at the weekend as I’d like to move it on as far as possible.

Treasure
Treasure

All in all a great first geocache to find, and I’m now certainly hooked on geocaching.  I’m already thinking of where I can place my first geocache, and will get a travel bug of our own to see how far we can get it to travel :-).

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

