the realisation that I have zero need for a netbook!

Well, having had the netbook for almost a month, and being able to count on one hand the amount of time it’s been used (excluding the setting up and hackintoshing) has led me to the realisation that I have no need for a netbook.  At least not at the moment, and not any of the currently available models.
I’ll still be keeping it for a while (as I’m supposedly trialling it for the company I work for), but can I see it being used?.  Not unless something happens to either my Lenovo T61 or X61 (which are my main work laptops).

so what went wrong?

To be honest nothing.  I just dont really have a need for a netbook.  While I travel for just over an hour each way into work on the train, I can’t be arsed to do any work on it.  I can answer email on my blackberry,  and if (god forbid) I have to actually write anything of note, I take my X61 home with me.  It’s not much larger or heavier really, and the keyboard is miles better.  If I want to watch a film I use my iPhone, same if I want to play a game or two.  While the idea of playing some nice PC games (nothign too cutting edge obviously) seems great, when you actually think about it, trains aren’t really the place.  I usually just want a 10 – 15 min session on a game or two to fill the gap between whatever I have been watching ends and arriving at my destination.

will I get another one?

The obvious answer is no, of course I wont.  However I love gadgets, and if I can find one that’s going for a steal I’ll probably get it, tart it up a bit (HD & RAM upgrade), play with it for a couple of weeks and then sell it :-).  If the new non ATOM netbooks have a cheap but good wuality 12in version then I might be tempted.  It would of course need to be hackintoshable though, and have much better battery life than the Advent though.  There’s always the possibilty of my job dictating my need however, as if I find myself travelling more and more, then the netbook becomes more desirable again, although I could really just continue to use the X61 if I’m honest.

So all in all I love the idea of a netbook, however the iPhone seems to do everything that I want a netbook for.  It’s a no brainer really.  A device that fits in my pocket, and lets me do what I want and make phone calls, or a netbook . . . .

iPhone FTW !  (this is obviously imo, other peoples needs will obviously vary)

Now if the 1008 had come back from the US for me, it might’ve been a different story (however I doubt it)

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

