geocaching

Having watched the TRS boys have a go at geocaching I thought I’d give it another go.  Having had a bash at it a couple of years ago after getting my Garmin eTrex and hunting a few caches down while out on my mtb and never really getting into it (a mix of going for tough caches to start with, and doing it in the cold\wet) I downloaded the iPhone app (another £5 on that damn app store!).

First thing that struck me was how many more caches there are both near my house and office.  Also on a few of the routes I go on my mtb there’s a fair few.  Having failed miserably on the three or four occaisons I tried initially, I think the increase in caches means I can’t fail to find a couple (famous last words !).  Also the fact that the iPhone pretty much holds your hand all the way to the cache (and lets you check the location\website etc) will make it easier for me to get a few caches found and get into geocaching.
I’m also going to hopefully do a few with my 3 year old, who might not ‘get it’ but I’m sure he’ll have fun

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

