first impressions on the Advent 4211

Well the first impressions of the Advent 4211 running OSX are pretty good, however there are a few things that I’m struggling to come to terms with . . .

  1. Keyboard – I just can’t seem to get on with the smal , . / keys for some reason.  Try as I might, I can’t seem to manage to get the one I want.  I’m a pretty good touch typist, and can usually get to grips with a slightly different layout with no problem (and switch between them almost immediately) but the fact that these 3 keys are a a different size seems to be neyond me.  I will probably get used to them in time, but this could be a problem that might turn me off the Advent
  2. Battery Life – Considering that I’m planning on using the netbook with OSX. under 2 hours of battery is just not acceptable.  I need to be able to use the netbook for 1 hour each way on the train , and up to an hour at lunch without having to worry about the power (idefally using sleep rather than shutdown as well).  3 hours is the bare minimum that I can put up with, and the piss poor 3-cell battery just doesn’t cut it.
  3. Screen Res – 1024 x 600 is proving less than ideal to use (with the applications that I want).  While this problem is going to be found with every netbook (and the screen will probably look awful with a higher res)  it might just mean that I need something bigger.

I’m sure more use of the advent over the next week or so will fgive me a better idea as to whether these are deal breakers or not.  The battery life however is something that will probably be the killer for me, and mean that I will probably have to buy a 6 cell battery if I go with an Advent, or change the plan and go for something with a 6 cell batter as default.
Time will tell I guess

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

