netbook options

So I’m currently in the market for a netbook, and the wide range available makes it difficult to choose.

The main things I want from a netbook are as follows

  1. OSX Compatible
  2. Cheap – No more than £300
  3. 10 in screen
  4. Decent keyboard
  5. Reasonable Battery Life

It’s going to have OSX on it (dual booted with windoze) so it needs to be compatible.  Thanks to the dudes over at Boing Boing there’s a handy compatibility list to help with any decisions.

OSX Compatibility List

From this list, there are a few standout netbooks, notibly the MSI Wind, Dell Mini 9, Samsung NC10, Lenovo S10 and the  EeePc 1000 Series.

The Dell Mini 9 hasn’t got a 10in screen, so that’s out of the running straight away, and the Lenovo and Samsung are more than I really want to play (unless I get them from US eBay which I’m not really keen on).  This leaves me with the MSI or the EeePC realistically.

The MSI (or the cheaper Advent 4211 variant) is £250 retail in the UK, and the EeePc around the £310 mark which leaves me thinking that it will be the Advent that I go for.
I think I prefer the EeePc, as the keyboard and battery life on the 1000HE are much better than that of the MSI\Advent, however I can get a refurbished Advent 4211b for around £200, which will probably be the deciding factor.  It also means that the 4211 I’m playing with at the moment I can just clone over to the refurb one I end up getting which will mean I’ll be up and running faster (not that it took long to get going anyway) and not have to worry about losing all the config\software of the temp 4211 I’ve got.

I do really like the look of the new EeePC 1008, and at £300 or so imported from the US it’s just about affordable.  The only downer is the inbuilt battery, and the fact you have to totally open it up to upgrade the RAM\HDD.  While I managed to do this ok on my previous netbook (acer aspire) I have to say it’s not something that I would want to do on a more expensive netbook which I would not be able to easily put back together and return to sender.

1008ha

It’s bloody sexy though, and part of me thinks that once there’s a few tutorials on how to successfully hack it for OSX I could be tempted to get one sent over.

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

