First Post – a bit of a placeholder

Who am I ?

My Names Dan – I’m 33 (almost 34).  I’m married, with 2 little boys.

Why another blog ?

I’m hoping that this one will actually be one that I bother to update (since the creation of this blog I’ve started 3 others which I haven’t bothered with after a couple of post, so have consolidated them all into one).  This blog isn’t really going to focus on anything (as the other blogs tried to and failed dismally after a month or so) but will just be my corner of the blogosphere to put shit down on paper.  Er, you know what I mean, put shit down in pixels.

Why Noileum?

Basically because I have no ileum 🙂  I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease in 2002, and after a couple of months of the Dr’s telling me it was IBS, I finally got to see a specialist and was having surgery to remove 3 ft of my large\small intestines within 2 weeks!  As a result I no longer have an ileum hence no-ileum.

What do I like to do?

I like pretty much anything that is tech\geek related, espectially if it’s to do with gadgets, video games etc.  Although since getting married and having two kids the ability to actually buy all the gadgets I want has drastically reduced, the fantastic women I married understands my gadget needs, and will occaisionally (as with the iPhone 3gs) let me indulge myself.  I also like Mountain Biking, Skateboarding (more watching than doing at the moment, at least until Dyl’s a bit older), watching Extreme Sports on the TV.  I have a soft spot for Wrestling as well, as I loved it when I was a lot younger (around 13 or 14) and for some reason if I catch it while channel surfing I seem to be compelled to watch 30 mins or so of it.  I have a passion for Video Games (XBOX 360 is the current weapon of choice), and while I dont spend anywhere near as much time playing them as I used to (ex WoW addict before kids came along, and haven’t ruled out another mmo\going back at some point), they still get a good portion of my time (when the kids are in bed).

Advertisements

Author: noileum

40 year young geek. Juggling being a dad/husband, trying to get out on my skateboard as much as possible, have as much fun as I can and generally be a 'good person' Thinking of a career change, to something with a bit more of a reward

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s